Gemini Free vs AI Plus, Pro and Ultra (2026): Which Plan Fits?

Updated September 26, 2026. Every figure below was read that day from Google's own subscription, Google One and Gemini help pages. No subscription prices appear here: the plans are compared by what they publish as numbers, and by what they publish only as multipliers. Word and page conversions are this article's arithmetic using Google's own published token guidance.
Comparing Google's AI tiers is unusual because most of the comparison is not made of numbers. Storage is a number. Flow credits are a number. The context window is a number. Almost everything else — how many prompts, how many Deep Research reports, how many images or videos — is published as "2x", "4x" or "up to 20x" higher than a base Google does not state. A multiple of an unpublished number cannot be planned against, and that single fact decides how this comparison has to be done.
What Google publishes as an actual number
| Published figure | No plan | AI Plus | AI Pro | AI Ultra |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Context window (Gemini Apps help page) | 32k tokens | 128k tokens | 1 million tokens | 1 million tokens |
| Cloud storage (Google One plan page) | — | 400 GB | 5 TB | Starting at 20 TB |
| Google Flow credits per month | — | — | 1,000 | 10,000 |
| Flow music credits per month | — | — | 10,000 | 30,000 |
| Google Cloud credits per month | — | — | — | $40 |
| Family sharing | — | up to 5 others | — | — |
What Google publishes only as a multiplier
The same pages describe Gemini access itself as "2x access" (AI Plus), "4x access" (AI Pro) and "up to 20x access" (AI Ultra), and the Gemini Apps help page frames usage limits as "2x higher than standard limits", "4x higher than standard limits" and "5x or 20x higher than AI Pro limits depending on your subscription". The base those multiply is not published on the pages read for this article; the help page states only that limits may be capped "within a specific timeframe" without naming the cap.
The developer-facing plans page is the same story from the other side: it describes AI Pro as "Higher quota" and AI Ultra as "Highest quota" for prototyping, with no rate limits attached to either phrase.
So there are two kinds of claims on these pages, and only one of them can be checked before you pay: the numbered rows in the first table, and the unnumbered multiples everywhere else.
The context window, converted into something you can hold
The context window is the most useful published number because it decides what can be handed over in one go. Google's own developer documentation puts a token at roughly four characters, and 100 tokens at roughly 60 to 80 English words. Applying that to the three published windows:
| Tier | Window | Words, at 60–80 per 100 tokens | Pages at 500 words | What that is |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| No plan | 32k tokens | 19,200–25,600 | 38–51 | A long report, or a chapter |
| AI Plus | 128k tokens | 76,800–102,400 | 154–205 | A short book, or a quarter's worth of memos |
| AI Pro / Ultra | 1M tokens | 600,000–800,000 | 1,200–1,600 | A shelf: several books at once |
Two things follow. The step from no plan to AI Plus multiplies the window by four; the step from AI Plus to Pro multiplies it by about eight. And the step from Pro to Ultra does not change it at all — both publish 1 million tokens. Whatever Ultra is for, it is not a larger window.
The tiers do not scale by the same factor, and that is the decision
Line the published numbers up as ratios and the upgrade stops being a single question.
| What you actually use | Plus → Pro | Pro → Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Context window | about 8x (128k → 1M) | 1x (unchanged) |
| Storage | 12.5x (400 GB → 5 TB) | 4x (5 TB → 20 TB) |
| Flow video credits | from none to 1,000 | 10x (1,000 → 10,000) |
| Flow music credits | from none to 10,000 | 3x (10,000 → 30,000) |
| Gemini access (multiplier only) | 2x → 4x | 4x → up to 20x |
A household that wants photo and video storage is looking at a 12.5x step at the Pro line. Someone generating video is looking at a 10x step at the Ultra line and nothing at all below Pro. Someone who mainly pastes long documents into Gemini gets an eightfold step at Pro and then nothing. The tiers are not "more of the same thing" — each step is large on some axes and flat on others, and the only way to choose is to know which row you personally consume.
The tier that is hardest to place
AI Plus is the interesting row. It is the only tier with family sharing named on the plan page (up to 5 others), it quadruples the context window from 32k to 128k, and it comes with 400 GB — but it carries no Flow credits at all, and its Gemini access is described as 2x rather than 4x. Read as a bundle, it is a household tier: more storage to share, a window big enough for ordinary documents, and none of the generation budgets that only appear from Pro upward.
That makes the Plus-versus-Pro question unusually clean for a subscription decision. If nobody in the household generates video and no single document runs past roughly 200 pages, every published number that separates Pro from Plus is one you would not use — except storage, where the step is 12.5x. If either of those two things is false, Plus is not a smaller Pro; it is a different product with a hole where the feature you need would be.
Where the multipliers leave you
For the unnumbered rows, the practical position is this: a multiplier tells you the direction of the change and nothing about whether it will be enough. "4x higher than standard limits" is meaningful only if the standard limit has been measured by hitting it, which means the honest sequence is to run at the free tier until something breaks, note what broke and how often, and only then decide whether 2x or 4x of that particular thing is worth paying for. Upgrading first turns an unknown base into an unknown multiple of an unknown base.
There is one exception worth naming. Where a plan publishes a number rather than a multiple — 400 GB, 5 TB, 1,000 credits, 1 million tokens — the decision can be made before paying, because your own usage can be measured against it today. Counting the gigabytes already in Drive and Photos, or the word count of the document that keeps having to be split, answers the question without a trial.
Which plan fits, on the published numbers
If the only complaint is that documents have to be split, the published window sizes decide it: 32k tokens is roughly 40 pages, so anything routinely longer than that is the case for AI Plus, and anything book-length is the case for Pro. If the complaint is running out of storage, the 400 GB and 5 TB figures are directly comparable to what Drive already reports. If the work involves generated video, Pro is the entry point because it is the first tier with Flow credits at all, and Ultra is a tenfold step rather than a marginal one. And if the complaint is "I keep hitting limits" without knowing which limit, no page read for this article can answer that — the published multipliers describe a base Google does not disclose, and that is a reason to measure before upgrading rather than after.
Five things to check before changing tier
- Open Drive's storage page and compare the number already used against 400 GB and 5 TB before treating storage as a reason to upgrade.
- Take the longest document in regular use, divide its word count by 60–80 per 100 tokens, and see which of 32k / 128k / 1M it needs.
- If video generation matters, note that credits exist only from Pro (1,000/month) and step to 10,000/month at Ultra.
- Write down which limit is actually being hit, and how often, before paying for a multiple of an unpublished base.
- Re-check these pages before renewing: every number in this article is a published figure on a page Google revises without notice.
Related reading on this site: choosing a tool on published limits compares vendors rather than tiers, and the automation ceilings piece covers what happens to scheduled work when a cap is reached.
Tip: Before paying for 5 TB in the cloud, it is worth knowing how much of the existing library is duplicate video sitting on one drive. External SSDs make that audit fast, and they change the storage row of the table above. (These are Amazon Associate links — we may earn a small commission on qualifying purchases.)
Google pages each figure was read from
- Gemini Apps Help — limits and upgrades for Google AI subscribers (32k / 128k / 1M token context windows; "2x", "4x", "5x or 20x" usage-limit multipliers)
- Google One — Google AI plans (400 GB, 5 TB, starting at 20 TB storage; Flow credits 1,000 and 10,000 per month; music credits 10,000 and 30,000; $40 monthly Google Cloud credits; family sharing with up to 5 others)
- Google AI for Developers — Google AI plans ("Higher quota" and "Highest quota" for AI Pro and AI Ultra, with no figures attached)
Comments
Post a Comment